Peptide LexiconAll compounds

Mazdutide: The One Compound in This Library With a Real Independent Literature

Mazdutide is a GLP-1 and glucagon dual agonist in late-stage development. Unlike almost everything else in this library, its 41 trial registrations come from fifteen different sponsors — not one.

Not approved in the USIn phase 3

Caroline S · Published 2026-09-09

Length

A peptide analogue of oxyntomodulin (development codes IBI362, LY3305677)

Sequence

Engineered to activate two receptors at once: GLP-1 and glucagon

Origin

Licensed by Innovent Biologics from Eli Lilly; developed principally in China

Last reviewed

2026-09-09

What is it good for?

Weight reduction and blood-sugar control. It belongs to the same wave of metabolic drugs as tirzepatide and retatrutide, and it is sold online for the same reasons, well ahead of any approval that would cover it.

Illustration: A large deep green molecular model sphere on a white lab bench with subtle copper reflections.
Illustration

What it is

Mazdutide is a dual agonist: a single engineered peptide that activates two receptors at once, GLP-1 and glucagon. It is modelled on oxyntomodulin, a gut hormone the body already makes that acts at both.

The two activities pull in interestingly different directions. GLP-1 activation suppresses appetite and improves blood-sugar control. Glucagon activation increases energy expenditure — but glucagon on its own also raises blood sugar, which is the tension the molecule is designed around.

It appears in the trial record under two names, IBI362 and LY3305677, because Innovent Biologics licensed it from Eli Lilly.

What is unusual about it

Almost every compound in this library has the same shape of evidence problem: one company studies it, and no one else does. The amylin analogue cagrilintide has 43 trial registrations and every single one belongs to Novo Nordisk. The triple-agonist entry records 33, of which 32 belong to Eli Lilly. When that is the pattern, everything known about a compound passes through one interested party.

Mazdutide does not have that pattern. Its 41 registrations, checked on 2026-09-09, come from fifteen different lead sponsors:

Sponsor Registrations
Innovent Biologics 19
Eli Lilly and Company 7
Thirteen Chinese hospitals and universities 13
Two named individual investigators 2

The hospitals in that third row — Tongji, West China, Shanghai Zhongshan, Beijing Friendship, Shandong Provincial, the Nanjing Drum Tower hospital, Tianjin Medical University and others — filed their studies themselves. That is what an independent literature looks like at the point it starts to exist, and it is worth naming because it is rare here.

None of this says mazdutide works better than anything else. It says the evidence has more than one author.

Where it stands

The phase 3 programme is substantial: 12 registrations, 5,118 participants planned or enrolled between them. Study sites are split almost evenly between the United States (107) and China (93), with a handful in Argentina, the United Kingdom and Germany.

What does not exist is a US approval. A DailyMed search for mazdutide on 2026-09-09 returned no records at all — no label, no approved indication, no dose, no contraindications, no warnings. For a compound being sold online right now, that absence is the whole story, because a label is not a formality: it is the document in which a regulator states who a drug is for and what must be watched.

PubMed indexed 50 mazdutide records on the same date. A large registry and a small literature is the normal shape of a drug still inside its development programme — the results exist mostly as trial records, not yet as published papers.

How it sits beside the others

This library covers the whole family, and the differences between them are receptor arithmetic more than anything else:

Ranking them is not something this library does, and in this case it is not something the evidence supports either: the head-to-head trials exist, but most of them have not reported.

What the research shows

Activates both the GLP-1 and the glucagon receptor

This is the design of the molecule and is not in dispute

Produces weight reduction and glycaemic improvement in trials

A phase 3 programme of 12 registrations and 5,118 participants is under way; several have completed

Has an established dose, indication or safety profile for a person buying it online

No US label exists. Nothing has been reviewed by the FDA

Bars show how much of the evidence is in humans, not how well anything works.

Where it stands

United States

No approved product. A DailyMed search for mazdutide on 2026-09-09 returned no records at all.

Trial registry

41 registrations on ClinicalTrials.gov (2026-09-09), including 12 phase 3 studies enrolling 5,118 participants between them.

Who is studying it

Fifteen different lead sponsors — Innovent Biologics (19), Eli Lilly (7), and fourteen more spread across Chinese hospitals and universities.

Where

107 registered study locations in the United States, 93 in China, plus Argentina, the United Kingdom and Germany.

Frequently asked questions

What is mazdutide?

A peptide drug in late-stage development that activates two receptors at once — GLP-1 and glucagon — where a drug like semaglutide activates only the first. It is derived from oxyntomodulin, a naturally occurring gut hormone that does the same double job. It carries two development codes, IBI362 and LY3305677, because Innovent Biologics licensed it from Eli Lilly.

Is mazdutide approved?

Not in the United States. A search of DailyMed, the US drug label database, returned no mazdutide records at all on 2026-09-09 — so there is no approved indication, no labelled dose, no contraindication list and no warnings written by a regulator. It is in phase 3, which means the evidence that would support an approval is still being gathered.

What makes it a 'dual agonist'?

It binds and activates two different receptors. GLP-1 activation reduces appetite and improves blood sugar. Glucagon activation raises energy expenditure — which sounds contradictory, because glucagon also raises blood sugar, and that is exactly the balance the molecule is engineered around. Retatrutide takes the idea further by adding a third receptor, GIP.

Why does it matter who sponsors the trials?

Because independent replication is the thing most compounds in this library completely lack. When every study of a compound is run by the company selling it, the evidence has one point of failure. Mazdutide's registry is genuinely different: fifteen sponsors, and more than a dozen studies filed by hospitals and universities working on their own questions rather than on the manufacturer's.

Why is so much of the research in China?

Because that is where it is being developed. Innovent Biologics is a Chinese company and it holds the rights in China; the registered locations reflect that, with 93 sites there. The programme is not confined to China, though — the registry lists 107 US sites as well, along with Argentina, the UK and Germany.

How does it compare to tirzepatide or retatrutide?

They are variations on one idea: hit more than one metabolic receptor with a single weekly injection. Semaglutide hits one, tirzepatide two (GLP-1 and GIP), mazdutide two (GLP-1 and glucagon), retatrutide three. The receptor combinations differ, and there is no basis in this library for ranking them against one another — the head-to-head trials that would answer that mostly have not reported.

Is it sold as a research chemical?

Yes, like the rest of this class, and well ahead of any approval. What that means practically is that a buyer is working from trial arm figures rather than from a label, with no indication, no screening and no confirmation that the vial holds what it claims. The absence of a US label is not a technicality here — it is the absence of the entire review that would say who the drug is for.